When was the last time you did something for the first time?

My answer is really simple. This is it. 🙂 I am publishing my first blog and first post. Isn’t it soooo exciting! Trust me, it is. Although, this is not my only first time of doing something for the first time.

I keep recalling the last time I first travelled in an airplane. The last time I first started swimming courses. The last time I first read a whole novel on a softcopy.

My list is really long, but let me now focus on one of my first experiences as a woman Engineer in construction industry.

May be you may find climbing as just a game. Talking from my experience, climbing at 10meter for the first time was really a life changing experience.

BEING THE ONLY LADY IN THE TEAM One day, there was ongoing works on site, and I was working with a team of other Engineers. I was the only lady in the team, as usual.

I had never mentioned fearing height but my colleagues were gentlemen enough to go fix issues at great height without requesting for my help. I never questioned that manner. I liked my team so much and I was feeling really included.

FEELING USELESS ON THE GROUND However, a moment came when everybody was at the top and really busy trying to remove a water pipe that was stuck under some heavy metals at the top.

At that moment I was always working on something but on ground. They kept updating me on what was going on and I gave my advice on strategies they can use but nothing worked.

For sure, this was just a minor issue, but I just got much concerned. I was worried that the more they kept using ‘their manly forces’ to remove the pipe, the higher was the risk of damaging the pipe.

Feeling useless on the ground and with a desire to add my input, I decided to climb the ladder for the first time and join them.

“GETTING TO THE TOP IS OPTIONAL. GETTING DOWN IS MANDATORY.” ED VIESTRUS. At like 5meters, I looked down and felt very scared. People were staring at me with worries and curiosity.

I somehow regretted to have climbed that far. Then, I realized that I had reached half my journey and the energy I would use to climb down was the same that I will need to reach the top.

Later, I decided to ignore all inner and outside negative voices and continued climbing up.

RECEIVING UNCONFORTABLE COMMENTS While climbing, I received both encouraging and uncomfortable comments from my colleagues at the top, but I kept going.

It has never brought that much attention when the boys climbed, but on my case everybody felt concerned to give me directives on what I had to do.

I would have wished to climb unnoticed just like any other engineer. It would have brought me less stress and tension, but I am happy it taught me much more than just climbing.

REACHING THE TOP Few minutes later, I joined the team at the top and together we fixed the issue. Being at that height and facing my fear, I felt released, very happy and proud of myself.

I climbed down and up for like five more times, I was enjoying it. That night, when I reached home, I remember telling my bestie Liz about that experience.

Emphasizing that I wish I could take all the girls at that ladder and let them feel what I felt. To which she just smiled.

Seriously, how else could I have known! Climbing is just a very fantastic experience. It builds trust, confidence, and self-esteem.

NEW DISCOVERIES Nelson Mandela said it well “It always seems impossible until it is done” When you haven’t yet tried something, you may be relying on false assumptions in your life.

Until I climbed and reached the top, I doubted where my “gentlemen” colleagues got that much confidence and fearless spirit. I couldn’t believe that climbing was that simple and could even be fun.

It made me realize that life is full of illusions, and sometimes we underestimate our capacity basing on facts that are not even real.

KEEP GOING You too may encounter difficulties getting to where others seem to have reached with ease, but keep going.

It is really worth it to keep going and you will get at the top.People have different strategies to success, define your own and keep going.

May be you too have something to share about your first time and the feelings that comes with it. It doesn’t have to be really big. I can’t wait to hear from you.

Thank you!

10 thoughts on “When was the last time you did something for the first time?

  1. This is a great post, as everyone has experiences of doing things for the first time. That´s what life is, just a series of first times, until you stop exploring and trying new things. I remember the first time I set out backpacking around the world on my own. I was 20 at the time, but thought I was a real grown up! It was a daunting, scary, bewildering experience, navigating some very, very foreign places. But it was ultimately an amazing and exhilarating experience, which taught me so much. You are open to some great life lessons when you push yourself to do something new. Long live the ´first experiences´!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

